dogcat

Donating is Safe and Secure


Click Donate Button To Log into
your Paypal Account or Donate by
Credit Card or Bank Account

You can also donate by
'snailmail' using this address:

 501 North Claypool Court 
  Va Beach, VA  23464
  Thank YOU! 
      
            






 

laying cat facing right dogskitty1ccute fuzzy

Check out our adorable and adoptable canines and Kitties on Petfinders, at: http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/VA612.html  

Links to some other good websites:  

Pitbull Central - good info about Pitbulls:  http://www.pbrc.net

Excellent website good information about NO KILL

Link to licensed Wildlife rehabbers in Virginia  Note: Enter Your Area & Search 

Friends of Norfolk Animal Control Pet Food Pantry

Animals Helping Children at Risk

Below is a list of Other Rescue Group Contacts  Compiled by Pamela Painter Friends of Norfolk Animal Care Center pkpainter23@cox.net Updated August 2010

 DOGS

 Afghan Hound

Tidewater Afghan Hound Rescue

Tina McGuigan  joseph16@cox.net  599-1242

Linda 496-2250

Akita

Akita Rescue Mid-Atlantic Coast, Manassas, Va.

Lisa Grey  lisa@akitarescue.org   www.akitarescue.org

Hillary LaMay hjlamay@yahoo.com

Puller Lanigan laniganp@hhmi.org  (301) 680-0788

Jodi Marcus  (703) 730-0844

 

American Eskimo Dog (Eskimo Spitz)

AngelsFrGod@aol.com

Denise  denise@eskiesonline.com

American Eskimo Dog Rescue
Mid South Eskie Alliance, Inc., TN  midsoutheskiealliance.rescuegroups.org
Beth Farmer  bablinidiut@aol.com   931-259-5869
Eskie Rescues United

Bill Fansher Bill@eskierescuersunited.org

 

Asian Dog Rescue  (pug, peke, shih tzu, Japanese chin, lhasa, Chinese crested, etc.) 

Lisa Cribb   lcribb2523@aol.com

Asian Dog Rescue, TN  AsianDogRescue@aol.com

East Coast Asian Dog Rescue, NJ

609 476-2476, 609 476-2486 info@asian-dog-rescue.org

Australian Cattle Dog (Blue Heeler)

Australian Cattle Dog Rescue Assn.

Erin Crouch  erinmur@aol.com  288-3872

Australian Shepherd

Aussie Rescue and Placement Helpline, Inc.

P.O. Box 5305, New Castle PA 16105 877 277-4779 arphinc@aol.com

Chevy Hall  AussieLove613@yahoo.com Gloucester, Va

Bassett Hound

Basset C.A.R.E.  info@bassetcare.org

John Farlow  johnfarlow@hotmail.com  635-4817

Helen Seldon  helenseldon@gmail.com    539-3195

Deborah Strickland  dl.strickland@jfcom.mil

Beagle

Safe Hounds Beagle Rescue, Inc.  www.safehounds.com  NJ

Karen Philhower  info@safehounds.com

Beagles to the Rescue.org

Rita Phoenix  familydogclub@hotmail.com  547-0404, 718-8800 cell

Laurel Uhlar  luhlar@gmail.com    374-0004, 583-1309 cell

Belgian Malinois

Angela McCalla   malinois@delriokennels.com

Belgian Tervuren

Carol Praissman  cpraissman@verizon.net   548-0505

Bichon Frise

Tidewater Bichon Frise Rescue   whitedogresq@yahoo.com  986-2275

Bloodhound

Southeast Bloodhound Rescue   www.southeastbloodhoundrescue.net   

Lori Regal   lori_r15@yahoo.com

Border Collie

Atlantic Region Central Border Collie Rescue, Inc.    arcbordercollies@yahoo.com  

Sandy Wright    sandra.wright@dom.com   804 852-9946  804  556-4330

Emily Adham      sheepandakom@yahoo.com  757-859-2059 (804) 506-4015

Judy Colvin (804) 405-2576

Boston Terrier

Boston Terrier Rescue of North Carolina

Betsy Myers  BetsysBostons@aol.com   336 339-4368

www.BTRNC.org   Greensboro, NC

Boxer

Hampton Roads Boxer Rescue

Leonard & Michelle Campbell, Chesapeake, VA (757) 287-3016

HmptnRdsBxrRescue@hotmail.com

Boxer Rescue and Adoption, Inc.

Dianne Spessard - (703) 620-5566 spess@cox.net  

BoxerAngelsRescue

Debbie Sprenger   chynnabee@yahoo.com

Brussels Griffon

Brussels Griffon Rescue    www.brusselsgriffonrescue.org

Sharon Kirkpatrick   hersheyshouse@verizon.net

Bulldog (American)

Jodi Specter  Jodi.specter@verizon.net

Bulldog (English)

On the Rebound Bulldog Rescue   reboundresQ@aol.com

Chip Hanbury  oscarmayer@cox.net  617-1010 cell

Bully Breeds

JKG D.A.R.E., Inc. 853-0398

Cairn Terrier

Colonel Potter Cairn Rescue Network   www.cairnrescue.com
Denise Gallucci, WHWT98@aol.com or CairnTerrierRescue@yahoogroups.com  

Catahoula Leopard Dog

Amy Durden   madurden_2000@yahoo.com  North Carolina

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel

Cavalier Rescue USA  www.CavalierRescueUSA.org
Karen Thomas Kolber    cavalierrescueusa@yahoo.com   757-425-8895  

American Cavalier King Charles Spaniel Rescue Trust
Betty Ann Brown    operadals@hotmail.com  
367 S. Turkey Creek Rd., Leicester NC 28748     828-768-0061

Chesapeake Bay Retriever

Chessie Rescue of Virginia 

Ann Montague ChessieRescueVA@aol.com

Mark Montague  vaironman@cox.net  373-0385

Christy Harrison   Have2CBRs@aol.com  484-6507  288-9291 cell

Chesapeake Safe Harbor   www.chesapeakesafeharbor.com

Jane Peabody   (207) 529 4127 & 4511  Bremen, ME 

Cocker Spaniel

Sonja Arrington   zhane7@hotmail.com   581-2300 cell

(252) 335-7808 (EXT 113) work

Oldies But Goodies Cocker Rescue

Karen Bryson (703) 971-5333  craze4cockers@aol.com

(703) 533-2373

Collie and Sheltie

Collie and Sheltie Rescue of Southeastern VA   Chesapeake

Tani Uglum  imtani@cox.net
Kathy O’Pezio    kato58@cox.net 

638-2046 home, 719-5988 cell , 413-7413 work

Diane Zaba   dmzaba@cox.net

Jagranger@earthlink.net

Corgi

Pembroke Corgi   426-5593

Brett and Blair Skipper  brett@tidewaterkc.org  490-3066

Susan Gieger  610 869 0384

Dachshund

Dachshund Rescue of North America     www.drna.org

Judy Wright dachshundrescue@cox.net

Southeastern Virginia Rep, Norfolk   287-5078 (cell)  489-3730 (home)

Dalmatian

Adopt A Spot Dalmatian Rescue, Inc.  www.adoptaspotdalrescue.com

Debbie Kidd   adoptaspotdalrescue@cox.net
Chesapeake, VA  484-2940,  537-3322 cell

Doberman

Doberman Assistance, Rescue and Education, Inc. (DAR&E)  www.dobe.net

Donna, Dog Intake Coordinator    dobesurrender@yahoo.com  410-663-1694 
darefeedback@yahoo.com  410-663-1694

Michele Suttle  mjsuttle@cox.net   287-7875

Grace Scarpa  Grace.scarpa@cox.net 

Silke Satzenger  silke@agfm.com 

Triad Dobe Rescue  336 621-3433 famadobes@aol.com

Shane Scott  757 456-9612

Dutch Shepherd

Valerie Lussier   surfing4treasure@sbcglobal.net

German Shepherd Dog

Virginia German Shepherd Rescue

Diane Diaz   dianedz@gmail.com   672-8327

Cindy Stephenson  tsarnick3@cox.net

Erin King  erin@newleafcanine.com   472-9949

Mid-Atlantic German Shepherd Rescue

Rebecca Toler  rebecca_toler@magsr.org   or  intake@magsr.org

German Shorthaired Pointer

Mid Atlantic German Shorthaired Pointer Rescue

Kathy Crow   crowbird988@yahoo.com

 

Golden Retriever

SEVA Golden Retriever Rescue  

Rose Bennett  Gottabbold@aol.com 804 740-1384  804 399-4212

Laura    lspink@cox.net

Melissa Pence melipen@gmail.com

Paulina Thompson driftersx2@aol.com  288-3663 cell, 827-8562 (intake hotline)  

Largo Elston  largomgb50@yahoo.com 

AARF Animal Adoption and Rescue Foundation  Richmond

(Labs and other retrievers)

Rick Northam    ricknortham@comcast.net   804-301-2414 cell

Great Dane

Great Dane Rescue of the Commonwealth    435-6306

Linda Boyd   Frogjtb@aol.com  Chesapeake

Wendy Settlemire    RWSettle@aol.com

Mid-Atlantic Great Dane Rescue League-Southern VA Chapter

Linda Sutphin 464-4655 lindanes4@yahoo.com  or  Sutphin.linda@us.zim.com

Sherry Eaton 422-8133 home, 961-3381 work

Stacey Gilbert  kermit716@cox.net  478-0440

Great Pyrenees

Great Pyrenees Rescue

Kathleen Murray kathleenmurray84@gmail.com  438-6790

Appalachian Great Pyrenees Rescue  agprescue.com   

Victoria  Marshman  bpkennel@msn.com 804-795-7847

Greyhound

Virginia Greyhound Adoption   virginiagreyhounds.org

703-288-4649   866-353-4649

National Greyhound Adoption

Gay Latimer greyhound@cox.net  486-7956

Cassandra McQuagge 2greytgreys@gmail.com

GreyhoundsRus@cox.net

 

Husky (Siberian Husky)

Southern Siberian Rescue Raleigh, NC

Rachel Peyton  southernsibes@yahoo.com

 

Siberian Huskies in Need Everywhere (S.H.I.N.E.)  303-1309

Alexis Rabon     anrabon@cox.net

Erica Mascarello  Erica@shinerescue.org

 

Irish Setter

Deanna Cuchiaro    irishrescue1@aol.com

 

Jack Russell Terrier

Russell Rescue, Incwww.russellrescue.com

James Felarca  jamesfelarca@gmail.com  726-7115   Norfolk

Virginia Russell Rescue www.angelfire.com/va3/russellrescue/

Kris Wagher   one_2_rescue@live.com  540 330-4632

Sandy Cryder   varussellrescue@gmail.com   540 421-2511

 

Keeshond

Keeshond Rescue

Marilyn Johnson  Kees3plus@aol.com

 

Labradoodle and Goldendoodle

Doodle Owners Group (IDOG) Rescue.  http://idog.biz/IDOGRRR.html
Marsha Taylor  marshatayl@att.net
309-697-4337 (home)  309-678-3880 (cell)

 

Labrador Retriever

Lab Rescue of the LRCP, Inc.

Sterrie Weaver   slweaver4@cox.net  876-2103 cell, 830-2185

Pat Connelly   PatterIII@aol.com  489-4179

AARF Animal Adoption and Rescue Foundation Richmond

(Labs and other retrievers)

Rick Northam    ricknortham@comcast.net   804-301-2414 cell

 

Malamute  (Alaskan Malamute)

Chesapeake Area Alaskan Malamute Protection    www.chaamp.org

Lezlie Crosswhite   malamuterescue@gmail.com

Angela Brown malamutes@ntelos.net

 

Mastiff

Southern States Mastiff Rescue   www.sosmastiffrescue.org  

Lonna Harrison   sota78@hotmail.com    410-8851

Marguerite Matter  toadhal@gmail.com

Chesapeake Mastiff Club

Kelly Schmidt  MastiffResQ@aol.com 757-572-1798

 

Min Pin

Miniature Pincher Service  636-1871,  hotline  877-646-7461)

Janice  janicecarnevale@yahoo.com   

Friends of Penny Min Pin Rescue   www.rescueminpins.com

Jennifer Anielski  jennifer@rescueminpins.com  (888) 685-6613, Greensboro, NC

 

Norfolk Terriers and Pugs

Locklan Norfolks and Pugs

Meg Lockwood   norfolkter@aol.com 757 749 9328   Poquoson

 

Papillion

Papillion Haven      www.paphaven.org  

Jan Jorolan    jorolan@catc.net

ibrake4coffee@yahoo.com

diane.simet@bmwna.com

 

Pekingese

Potomac Valley Pekingese Club

Linda Maxwell  HAVENINHIM@aol.com  424-8486    589-1381

 

Pitbull

Ring Dog Rescue

Stephanie Zannin    petz_8@hotmail.com

Misunderstood Pit Bull Rescue   222-4478

BullyPaws Pit Bull Patriots   Fredericksburg

bullypaws.adoptions@gmail.com

 

Pointer    

Tabitha  pointermom@att.net

 

Pomeranian

Pom Posse   www.pomposse.org

Diane Kelley kelleydf04@msn.com 

Gail Wells   schatze926@yahoo.com

Loushel Troxell   pomposse@yahoo.com  578-4771

Pomeranian Club of Central Virginia, Inc.

Diana M. Downey  Dimonde@earthlink.net

Bosley's Pom Posse

Ronda Sweet  emeralds1969@yahoo.com

Donna Lowe  dmlowe4@gmail.com

 

Poodle

Ruth Piel   leopiel@verizon.net  471-5546

 

Pug

Mid-Atlantic Pug Rescue       www.pugrescuenc.org

Allyzabethe Ramsey  Allyzabethe.Ramsey@norfolk.gov

Kimberly Thompson  kimberly@midatlanticpugrescue.org

kimberly.thompson@nscorp.com  823-5450, 375-2221

Cathleen Codling cathleen@pugrescuenc.org  (757) 240-0815
Charlene Moss  804-337-6134  www.midatlanticpugrescue.org

 

Rottweiler

Rescue Richmond Rottweilers

Sandi Barrett  Rescuinrotties@aol.com   (804) 428-6484

Southern States Rottweiler Rescue

Lisa Sims   Hattiesims@aol.com

Bob Leonard    588-8741

Ring Dog Rescue

Stephanie Zannin    petz_8@hotmail.com

 

Saint Bernard

Mid Atlantic St. Bernard Rescue    717-8774    saintrescue.org

Liz Counselman     lcounselman@cox.net  749-7738 cell

Stephanie Osler  TLCCoronado@aol.com or Steph1972@aol.com 

668-6945 work, 619-3622 cell  stephanie.osler@chkd.org

 

Samoyed
Mid-Atlantic Samoyed Rescue, Inc.

Danielle Buchheister    eisbearsamoyeds@juno.com

Schipperke

www.SchipperkeRescue.Net

Susan Fogleman   rescue@schipperkes.org 926-4467  Newport News 

Emergency: 757 814-3430

Terry Ward gotpups@gmail.com  926-4467

www.schipperkes.org  

 

Schnauzer

Anya Whitney   awhit6226@yahoo.com 

804-447-2057 (home)  804-986-8927 (cell)

Joe and Marcella Beard  Beard5053@aol.com  638-0133  286-7079 cell

Schnauzer Rescue of the Carolinas

828-726-1510   srcinfo@bellsouth.net

                                             

Shar-Pei

Shar-Pei Rescue of VA, Inc.  399-PEIS

Catherine   catherine@sharpeirescueofva.org   464-6515 and 286-4845 

SOSharpei   687-PAWS

Tiphaine Czahor   mabon66@hotmail.com

Vicki Goldrich  sharpeirescue@cox.net  491-1141 home, 630-4653 cell

 

Shiba Inu

Shiba Rescue Mid-Atlantic

Info@shibarescue.com

Northern Calif. Shiba Rescue  (will arrange transfer)

Red Young  shibak9@aol.com

NYC Shiba Rescue  nycshibarescue.org
jennifer mauro  jenn.mauro@nycshibarescue.org
856-207-1081 (cell)  212-658-9657 (fax)

 

Shih Tzu

Gail Hayes gigitzu6@cox.net

 

Springer Spaniel  (English Springer Spaniel)

Mid Atlantic English Springer Spaniel Rescue   301 362-0423

Gina Lasky ginalasky@yahoo.com  215-896-8238

Lisa Nuzzaci  LR4761@att.com

Elizabeth Smith  EMSCRS@aol.com     www.maessr.org

bofusone@earthlink.net

Mary Baker  252 435-6879 Bakerdzn@Interpath.com  

 

Weimeraner

Mid-Atlantic Weimeraner Rescue

Dan Stallings alphamail@theedoghouse.com   289-2700 Virginia Beach

DC Area Weim Rescue/Mid-Atlantic Weim Rescue

Andrea Boone andreab27944@gmail.com  252-264-3558 home or 252-312-7000

Karin Bakken weims2@comcast.net   Manassas  703-220-7334

West Highland Terrier, Scotties, Cairn Terrier

Westie, Cairn, Scottie and Scruffafluff Rescue
Fuzzy Face Rescue   fuzzyfacerescue ct@petfinder.org    

scruffafluffrescue@gmail.com

fuzzyresq@yahoo.com
Nancy barkingboys@gmail.com
 

Yorkshire Terrier

United Yorkie Rescue  

Judy McCann   jmccann@hovac.com  434-294-2986

 

 

ALL BREED

 

Animal Adoption and Rescue Foundation

Cindy Smith   Fortheloveofpups@aol.com   Richmond

 

Animal Aid Society

Linda Buchert   ovablek9s@hotmail.com

865-0511  Hampton

 

Animal Assistance League

aalofva@aol.com  548-0045, Chesapeake

 

Animal Rescue of Tidewater  456-1354

Debra Griggs   jasper550@cox.net

Susan Corbitt  caring4paws@cox.net  404-6032 cell

 

Hope For Life Rescue  491-4609

Pauline Cushman    pauline@jaggc.hrcoxmail.com  288-4468 cell

adopt@hopeforliferescue.com

 

K-9 New Life    721-BARK

Kathy Horton   bentleyhorton@aol.com 455-5117 home, 749-4109 cell

 

Mostly Mutts

Pamela Painter   pkpainter23@cox.net  

Nancy Bland   blandnl@cox.net

Jane Lauter   jlauter1@cox.net

Cindy Fleisch  cshefsky@yahoo.com

 

Norfolk SPCA

Suzy Swims  sswims@norfolkspca.com

 

Partners Among Cats and Canines

SettersGlen@aol.com

 

Rainbow Animal Rescue

Esther and Dallas Williams Bigd447@cox.net

583-8777 home, 472-1585 cell

 

CATS

 

Animal Rescue of Tidewater  456-1354

Debra Griggs   jasper550@cox.net

Susan Corbitt  caring4paws@cox.net  404-6032 cell

 

Cat Rescue, Inc.

Shawne Owen  shawnelinda@cox.net, 237-6112 cell 

Charlene Brassington   brassdolphin@earthlink.net  777-2900

Frances Cook   frances.cook@norfolk.gov  854-4354 home, 664-6692 work, 432-9345 cell

Debbie Donour  debbie@debbiedonour.com

 

Hope For Life Rescue  491-4609

Pauline Cushman    pauline@jaggc.hrcoxmail.com  288-4468 cell

adopt@hopeforliferescue.com

 

Partners Among Cats and Canines

SettersGlen@aol.com

 

 

RABBITS

John Doub  547-7151 work, 478-4999 cell 572-1360 rabbit cell

Chesapeake Bay Bunnies 

Karen Calabro  kcalabro1@cox.net

Tidewater Rabbit Rescue

Diane Tyson  jollymonsing1@msn.com  483-6250, 483-2014

 

FERRETS

Ferret Haven By the Sea

Tyler Mills  Ferretlover917@aol.com

 

GUINEA PIGS

Guinea Pig Rescue

Sharon Coffey   420-2376

 

IGUANAS & BEARDED DRAGONS

Iguana and Bearded Dragon Rescue

Cindy Hiddeman   vbiguana@yahoo.com   431-9174

 

WILDLIFE

Wildlife Response, Inc.

Lisa Barlow  buteosvr@aol.com 543-7000

Evelyn's Wildlife Refuge

Evelyn Flengas  rehabwild@cox.net  430-2886 

 

For A Little Inspiration, CLICK HERE: catsanddogsrumors